TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Advice Needed by a Post-grad
Remy Argo - 2008-05-30

Hi!

So, said bluntly, I'm looking for advice and any and all given is greatly appreciated.
I'm a recent graduate and have a year or 2 from medical school. During that time, I'd like to travel, learn and keep from squandering the little time I have left, all the while keeping the IRS and loan companies off of my back. I recently found about the vast opportunities afforded by teaching English abroad. From my initial impressions and up to now, it seems to fit exactly how I'd like to spend my time. It allows me to travel, to learn by teaching (because, in many way form my experience, people do learn much by teaching) and by immersion, to make a difference (I guess I'm a bit of an idealist), and, from my initial impressions, pays and pays well enough. A break from the West, I suppose.
I was wondering what my chances were and what they were of not getting screwed over. I graduated with a BS in Psychology, although I have a strong science, literature, and EALC (East Asian Languages and Cultures) background, with the EALC portion focused, to a great degree, on Chinese intellectual history. I have minimal teaching experience, having taught a martial arts class to kids (3 class/day, 5 days/week) for a summer in a local summer school a few years back.
I should say that I don't have a TESL or any certification of the like, simply due to cost and time. (Being a pre-medical student is fairly expensive) Although I'd be more than willing to consider an online course, I also feel that an online course wouldn't be of too much use. Plus, I do have relatives and friends in the educational system here (US) that I could gain advice from.