TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Some thoughts - ESL discussion
RhenoThai - 2005-05-31
In response to Need help - ESL discussion (Dave)

I wish I could tell you which place is 'best', Dave. It depends on what you value. I'm a serious teacher who expects a lot from my students and my school, including pay. So...let me give it a shot in the dark.

I teach in Thailand. The rule here is English teachers need both a Bachelor's degree and a TESOL or CELTA certificate. I think you'll have to get a TESOL to teach here, even though you have partially-completed ESOL course under your belt. I don't think a partial is good enough, unfortunately.

If you do need the certificate, there is no way around paying out hundreds or thousands on a TESOL course, save for one possibility: one can get a 'fake' TESOL certificate from a counterfeit document vendor on Koh Sarn Road in Bangkok. This will set him back about 75 USD. If he's careful, he can pull it off easily. I know at least five people who are running on fakes and they've had no problems. They're good teachers, too. If you are interested in the 'real deal' certificate, check out the TESOL programs in Bangkok. One place here in Thailand is TEFL Int'l. This is a good place to get a real certificate, but it's pricey (1600 USD not including airfare), at least for Asia.

As far as teaching here in Thailand goes, the pay is way low compared with schools in countries like South Korea. Also, the students aren't too motivated to learn here. Cheating is rampant where I work, as is horseplay and talking/sleeping in class. Most of my students never practice speaking/listening outside of class, which means they aren't getting any closer to proficiency as the classes go by. They need to practice if they are gonna stay out of the sweatshops.