TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Hagwon owner blacklist: Do not work for these people
joe williams - 2014-07-07

Hi all.

I have a very bad hagwon experience to relate, and am writing this in the hope that sharing this information with the foreign teacher community in Korea might prevent the same people from damaging other peoples lives.

In october 2012 I signed a terrible contract with a [edited] guy [edited] called M[edited]. I was a first time teacher and pretty naïve, but even at that stage I knew it was a bad deal. The pay was 1.8 million per month, and the hours were full time. I was kinda desperate for the job, so I signed. The school was a small independent Hagwon in in Gihueng-gu, Yongin-si called Creative English.

After about 5 weeks in Korea, M[edited] still hadnt gotten me my health insurance, which was a clause in my contract, and I broke my finger. At this point I was still pretty naïve and still trusted M[edited] to a certain extent. M[edited] said I could use his insurance but insisted on taking me to a hospital in Suwon which he assured me was excellent. The operation was a disaster. The anaesthetic didnt fully work (they literally strapped me down to the table, and I still had plenty of feeling in my hand) the finger got infected and then lated the bone slipped again. If I had had my own health insurance like I was supposed to this might never of happened. My finger never recovered and I still cant bend it.