TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Three of the big, annoying mindsets I must fight in TESOL - Teachers Discussion
#1 Parent Frank - 2006-07-01
Running... for our sanity! - Teachers Discussion

Ive been teaching English in China since 2003. I came here with university teaching experience in the U.S. While I enjoy teaching English to Chinese students (most days), Ive had numerous problems with school administrators or training school managers. I try my best these days not to sign contracts. This is only possible for me because I have taught in one city mainly, and I have a high reputation with students. I have quit a number of jobs (contract or no contract) not because of a better opportunity but due to intolerable working conditions which I have discussed ad nauseam with school leaders prior to my departure.

Last year, after a brief return to the U.S., I made the grave mistake of accepting a position in a very different area of China (for reasons Ill spare you) at a public school. I thought I had asked all the right questions (by phone from the U.S.) -- even talking at length with the foreign teacher currently working there. However, the realities of the job, the dwelling, the classes, the small city, etc. were far from what I had expected.

The man who had hired me (whom the students felt had cheated them and their parents with guarantees of future study abroad) and the foreign teacher (who had his own agenda) had both greatly misled me about the real situation. After five weeks of serious problems with the apartment, problems with previously-agreed upon reimbursements, student load, etc., I decided to get the hell outta there! I did my first (and only, to date) runner and I dont regret it for a second!