TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Teaching English to Absolute Beginners - Teachers Discussion
#1 Parent Santiago - 2006-11-13
direct method - Teachers Discussion

Yes Alex, you are right to advise the Direct Method in this situation. And by the way my compliments on your success at learning a second language.
Not to take away from your well placed advice, but it should be emphasized that the Direct Method involves very little contact, if any, with the written word. And this would be especially so in Joyce's situation where the students are not at all familiar with a written language and are absolute beginners. Writing will come later for most of her students, but it will take some time before that happens or, for that matter, even becomes necessary; furthermore, in accordance with this methodology, communication is top priority and students should be kept away from the printed word for as long as possible.
Realia, pictures, and of course teacher modeling are top priority for this method. Actually, it can be quite fun and opens up a world of creativity for the teacher. It has the additional advantage of allowing the teacher to be more of a facilitator and/or participant and therefore creates a more comfortable learning environment for the students.

How right you are regarding the irregularities of the English language! Ain't it fun?

#2 Parent Alex - 2006-11-13
Better use direct-method... - Teachers Discussion