TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Shame - Teachers Discussion
#1 Parent Old and Tired - 2007-05-21
Now I've seen it all... - Teachers Discussion

Youve got to be kidding!

Ive been visiting this website on and off for more than three years now, and yes, its too bad that posters can often be so brutal to one another.

That being said, I think your post entitled Shame is, in its own way, far more preposterous and outrageous than many of the rude and downright hateful posts made by FTs past and present.

First of all, to make a post as a group of 12 people is rather laughable in and of itself. Not only is it lazy, it boasts some sort of false solidarity that I doubt would hold up for long if you were placed in many of the circumstances and conditions that many FTs face in China. There is also a high measure of moral superiority stirred into your collective admonishment of the rest of us. (Talk about Shame on you...)

If there is any real message consistently coming through this forum it is perhaps that we are all quite different. We (as you clump all prior posters into one global entity) represent the full spectrum of intellectual, educational, social, political, moral, and cultural backgrounds and perspectives.

Yes, it is shocking and maddening and disgusting (as well as illuminating and inspiring and refreshing) at times, but it is what it is (as some folks say): an open forum, warts and all.

I despise many of things people say and promote here, but what keeps me interested is the true openness of this place -- particularly while living in a country so full of all sorts of oppression.

As the often the wise and insightful Turnoi points out, labeling oneself an ESL teacher requires little or no qualification, and I doubt many of us here could even agree on a standard measurement or definition of an ESL teacher.