TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Preaching or Teaching? - Teachers Discussion
#1 Parent Yingwen Laoshi - 2007-09-26
Preaching or Teaching? - Teachers Discussion

I didn't realize that my innocent post (at least that's how I saw it), would bring such strong responses.

Gentlemen, if you care enough to re-read my previous post you will notice that I pointed out that use of the Martin Luther King speech in my class, was NOT in the context of a lesson on racism. I am an ENGLISH teacher (though some may deny that I am even that). I do not preach politics in class. In fact I am not too greatly interested in politics.

You mention that we should only bring ourselves into the class. If you mean by this, that we should not put forward the political beliefs of others in order to promote a personal political agenda, then I am with you. Let me, though, explain how I used King's speech. My objective was to help students appreciate that the main purpose of language is communication, and that, in turn, words, whether written or spoken can have a powerful influence on us long after we have died. I used part of King's speech as a case in point to help them appreciate that King is still talking, encouraging, inspiring, and giving hope to people all over the world today, despite the fact that he died nearly forty years ago. I was trying to help students appreciate what a powerful medium English could be for them if they master it well. Having good English skills will help them in turn encourage, inspire, and give hope to people all over the world. The ultimate objective of the activity was to motivate and inspire them into working harder at English by realizing the potential it has for helping them to contribute to society in a positive way, and to derive satisfaction from that.