TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › DISCRIMINATION in Teaching English Language - Teachers Discussion
#1 Parent JNET - 2007-12-08
Re: DISCRIMINATION in Teaching English Language - Teachers Discussion

Nice inspiring post R.J.
I agree with you 100%. We really just have to
prove our worth. Those who know what quality education means will surely come to find
out who is who, as simple as that.

Enjoy teaching in my beautiful country while we
make our way to proving our worth here in China :D

#2 Parent R.J. - 2007-12-05

I would just like to share my thoughts on this. I had a similar experience here in the Philippines. First off, I am a native speaker, born and raised in America. I'm just not white, since both of my parents are Filipinos (that's what I was doing here, by the way).

I could say I felt discriminated at one point in my career. I was a new teacher applying in one of the academies here (I don't want to mention names or go into details). I was confident I would be hired, and I was. The catch was, since I wasn't "white", they would offer me a higher salary than my fellow Filipino co-teachers, but I wouldn't be able to make as much as a "white" native speaker. Since it was my first job as an ESL teacher, I was focused more on the experience and not the pay, so I took it. But I did have to swallow my pride, and definitely, I did feel discriminated at that time.