TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Re: Can non native speakers teach English better than Chinese English teachers? (linguisticus)
#1 Parent callmefred - 2008-02-24
Re: Can non native speakers teach English better than Chinese English teachers? (linguisticus)

You said:

I'VE BEEN TEACHING FOR MORE THAN 20 years.

and I have been learning since you were begging your father to take you to JollyBee. Neither of the two statements mean much without evidence of progress. I see none in your rhetoric.
I don't know whom to feel sorrier for, you or the students.

Still as you have previously stated, you are a businesswoman and in education for the money. I hope you make a bundle.

Good day to you.

#2 Parent viva - 2008-02-24
Re: Can non native speakers teach English better than Chinese English teachers? (linguisticus)

to callmefred:

i just want to end this interesting discussion with you by asking how long have you been teaching? if less than 5 years...you still have so much to learn...10 years, perhaps you have already learne
d some...15 years? then i'm inviting you to sit in my
class!!! i'm teaching the graduate students.

I'VE BEEN TEACHING FOR MORE THAN 20 years.

You know what? i also wish i were a better writer...you could have appreciated me a little hahaha. of course, i myself am laughing
when i read my mistakes but don't take those against my teaching ability
that would be unfair for me.

IT's time for me to work.

#3 Parent callmefred - 2008-02-24

Viva, Just to clarify for your benefit, you said:

HONESTLY i learned and spoke YOUR english

I replied "you've been conned because you haven't"
meaning you haven't learned and you don't speak (or at least write) my English.

For your information, I have never criticised the English used by a learner of the language here or anywhere else, only the standard of English used by those who claim to be qualified to teach said language, both native and non-native who post on this forum.