TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › To "EF" or not to "EF? That is the question!!
#1 Parent Nelia Vorster - 2009-06-16
Re: To "EF" or not to "EF? That is the question!!

I have almost 5 years experience teaching in EF, 3 years in China and I am busy with my second year in Indonesia.
It is true that there are some EF schools who do not treat their teachers very well, but that is the case in most large groups. I am very happy at my current school (just outside Jakarta), and I have met people from the schools in Surabaya, and had a really good impression of the schools there. Hope that helps.

#2 Parent Gilbert - 2009-06-09

Hannah -

They pay 30 - 50% less than 95% of the other English schools in China. Currently, we are being made to work six days a week from now until the end of August with no overtime poay and upwards of 55 hours a week.

It's a scam.

Best,

CGM

#3 Parent Teresa - 2009-06-03

Hannah: Don't listen to the naysayers! ha I've been teaching with EF for 2 years in Beijing, China! It's a stand-up company, pays well, offers Western benefits, and although you do work hard...the benefits are very rewarding. Teaching kids is great, no matter where! Check out my blog for lots of photos relating to teaching kids with EF: www.tinchina.typepad.com. Email me if you have any questions! T.

#4 Parent eflfree - 2009-06-02

Overworked, underpaid, unappreciated. Those should be enough reasons. There are plenty of other options. My advice is to look further before making such a leap.

#5 Parent Turino - 2009-06-01

The kids alone is enough for me to quit, but since the new Chinese crackdown on visa laws, I haven't been left with much of a choice.

Gilbert,would you be so kind as to detail the new visa restriction(s) introduced by the Chinese re FT's,as you state above?Thanking you in advance!

#6 Parent Gilbert - 2009-06-01