TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › (Message Deleted by Poster)
#1 Parent B - 2010-04-19
Re: Sichuan Language School

Thanks for your response. I knew there was something off about this contract. I have since received another contract for Dongying in Shandong province. A couple that are from only a few hours where I live now run 2 bilingual schools, and will meet me in Canada and fly with me to beijing, take me to get my permits and visas and things. I have a college diploma (2 year diploma) with some volunteer teaching experience, and am getting my TESOL as we speak. They have been very honest with me about everything. The pay is better than the other contract, and they also feed me during the week, pay for everything at my apartment, (which is on campus) and the remuneration for flight and medical care is much better (I pay up front and they reimburse me up to 8000 rmb for flights and all of my medical expenses at the end of the contract). They have been very helpful, so I hope to accept this contract and get to China as soon as possible. Thanks again for all of your help.

#2 Parent Callum West - 2010-04-19

@B - cunning inguist has given you some sound advice there. I currently live in Chengdu but have not heard of the Sichuan Language School. (Not surprising since language schools in China are as common as rice!).

Firstly what you need to know about is your visa. Have they offered you a visa for the job? By law they are required to do this if they are a legal establishment. Some useful facts for you:

1) A language school can't just hire foreign teachers. They need a specific certificate from local/provincial government to do it. You should ask for a scan of this. (All Chinese but perhaps you can send it to me (email) and I can check it for you.)
2) Working illegally in China carries with it the following penalties: maximum = deportation, then fine. Max. fine = 1000RMB.
3) To teach legally you will need the following:

a) university degree