TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Lesson Plans!
#1 Parent Johnson - 2010-06-10
Re: Lesson Plans!

Hi Stacy,
You might want to consider peer interviews where they interview each other, asking questions about who they are. With the information collected you can then have them present their "findings" as a report about their friend to the class. This gives them an opportunity to practice formal and informal conversation skills. keep in mind that this can be a lesson for any level, it only requires your expectations to be raised or lowed based on their ability.

#2 Parent Justin - 2010-05-25

Hi Stacy,

I'm also a young teacher, 23, and know how you feel. Trust me though, it gets easier. Right now you are nervous because you are doubting your ability to connect with the students, but its fine. Honestly most schools just want to show off their foreigner so don't count on them watching over your shoulder. Not that this means you shouldn't take your job seriously though.

Do you have a text book you teach from? Its probably garbage like mine was, but it can be used as a general outline of what to discuss in your classes.

Try to play games with them, it will help them open up to you. Chinese kids love to sing, as do their parents. teach them a melody. My fourth graders loved singing the songs at the end of their chapters, even if they really lame like;

"Blue bird, blue bird, out my window. Blue bird, blue bird, out my window. Fly to the sky blue bird."

It gets them to participate and enjoy the class. You should get into it too, make motions and smile.