TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Recruiter Tom Ge, Worth A Try?
#1 Parent Justin - 2010-06-09
Re: Recruiter Tom Ge, Worth A Try?

I received an email from him, as well. He said was he was very impressed with my experience! This makes 100% sense because I have ZERO experience. It is his attention to detail that makes him excellent...

Go to the SAFEA website (http://www.safea.gov.cn/english/) and ask them if you can't get a list of approved schools in the area you want to work. I found a similar file for Guangxi simply through a Google search and that was amazingly helpful.

Believe half of what you see,

Justin

#2 Parent Gozimus - 2010-06-05
Re: Recruiter Tom Ge, Worth A Try?

I wouldn't send him a thing -- there are some real shady companies and big liars recruiting, if you can call it that. You just serve as the ESL Monkey that serves as "bounty". if he's a korean dude there in Korea right now telling you to send over docs that's crap. the school employer will ask that of you directly when you're positively hired. , he doesn't give a crap about you and will tell you anything you want to hear because they're in major shortage now for the high demand of english teachers.

South Korea changed all the requirements for a visas so they screwed themselves., before 2008 it was really easy to get over there and start working. Now, you MUST have a criminal background check in your home country, have apostled or sealed or whatever, then send to your capital of your state to send to the recruiter. Then you must have interview with a Korean consulate in home country, so, if you live in Kansas City, Ks and the closest consulate is Chicago, you must make and appointment to meet with...ya da ya da...
blood test, urine test , sealed transcripts from college...overnighting docs to korean employer...
it keeps going on and on.