TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Re: Summation of the debate.
#1 Parent San Migs - 2012-08-02
Re: Summation of the debate.

And unlike some of our more prolific long-term posters, I've got lessons to plan, er, because I'm a serious teacher.

Your call. You still don't know anything about UK law however.

#2 Parent Clyde - 2012-08-02

San Migs said:

Because they can't see the flipside, and

NOONE has said anything about sleeping with 16 year olds

or their current students.

On July 29:

Sex with students is a FELONY in some States in the US, including with students over 21 years old.

San Migs' response:

Well, that law is just outdated and ridiculous if you are asking for my opinion, you are going to get it!!

The age should be 16, not 21.

As I said it is an issue of employment law, therefore, not criminal law.

I don't know . . . it looks like SOMEONE did say sleeping with anyone over 16 years old "should be" okay (does 16 1/2 count or must they reach that magical 17th birthday?). And laws prohibiting sex with students are "outdated" and "ridiculous"? I guess no more need be said.

Thanks so much for tackling that one IMHO. You saved me the trouble. And unlike some of our more prolific long-term posters, I've got lessons to plan, er, because I'm a serious teacher.

#3 Parent IMHO - 2012-08-01

San Migs said:

Because they can't see the flipside, and
NOONE has said anything about sleeping with 16 year olds
or their current students.

On July 29:

Sex with students is a FELONY in some States in the US, including with students over 21 years old.

San Migs' response:

Well, that law is just outdated and ridiculous if you are asking for my opinion, you are going to get it!!

The age should be 16, not 21.

As I said it is an issue of employment law, therefore, not criminal law.