TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › The ruse of Social Justice..agree/disagree?
Joshua Card - 2012-09-13
The ruse of Social Justice..agree/disagree?

Hello ESLer's,

My name is Joshua Card, currently a graduate student here at the University of Northern Colorado. I am going for a Master of Arts in Teaching, with a focus on Linguistically Diverse Education...or however you wish top it. This is my first semester and unfortunately, I am not buying into the mantra of what the curriculum is pushing (fortunately, actually). This has a caused a few problems.

1. I was actually going for a Masters in Sociology but after a couple of classes, I realized I was wasting my money. So, I had only a few hours to find an alternative and I was advised to go for this (considering I have 6 years of ESL experience, abroad). However, this class is geared for those already in the classroom......which I'm not, and this info would have been useful to know, beforehand. But, in order to keep the balance of finances I have to find a way to do some of these assignments.

2. As stated, I do NOT buy into this rubbish of shoving down the ruse of "social justice" down the throats of potential teachers. I fall more on the conservative line of the field, especially regarding education. Words like "discipline", "accountability", "culture of entitlement", "break down of traditional American values", "break down of the family unit", and so forth, fail to be written in the curriculum.

So...I'm hoping to gather more information and I can't think of too many other places to get hands on knowledge, than a pack of ESLers, in the trenches!

Not to worry, I have to listen to all arguments and will not sideswipe what you have to say. I'm merely trying to collect information from those who are in the trenches.

Allow me to give some questions..(samples or the real thing)

What is your understanding of Social Justice?