TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Need help - ESL discussion
#1 Parent Elephant - 2005-06-16
Well, what did you decide? - ESL discussion

Did you decide where to go to teach? I know of a job RIGHT NOW you could step into in Thailand. It's a job teaching at a high school near Lopburi. I just finished up a contract there and am now ready to go make some 'real' money doing this TEFL thing.

Interested?

E

#2 Parent RhenoThai - 2005-05-31
Some thoughts - ESL discussion

I wish I could tell you which place is 'best', Dave. It depends on what you value. I'm a serious teacher who expects a lot from my students and my school, including pay. So...let me give it a shot in the dark.

I teach in Thailand. The rule here is English teachers need both a Bachelor's degree and a TESOL or CELTA certificate. I think you'll have to get a TESOL to teach here, even though you have partially-completed ESOL course under your belt. I don't think a partial is good enough, unfortunately.

If you do need the certificate, there is no way around paying out hundreds or thousands on a TESOL course, save for one possibility: one can get a 'fake' TESOL certificate from a counterfeit document vendor on Koh Sarn Road in Bangkok. This will set him back about 75 USD. If he's careful, he can pull it off easily. I know at least five people who are running on fakes and they've had no problems. They're good teachers, too. If you are interested in the 'real deal' certificate, check out the TESOL programs in Bangkok. One place here in Thailand is TEFL Int'l. This is a good place to get a real certificate, but it's pricey (1600 USD not including airfare), at least for Asia.