TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Return to Index › Degree for Visa - Teachers discussion
#1 Parent Robin Day B.Sc. MSc. B.Ed. - 2006-04-24
Using Titles/Degrees or not. - Teachers discussion

Titles/degrees. I never used them until a few years ago at someone's suggestion. They say where you are coming from. I'm a plant scientist in China for a stint so was interested in your mentioning herbal foods. Degrees don't bother me. Who do they bother, and why? I've been around doctors, dentists and academics (few engineers) all my life, moreso now on-line
austronesian@yahoogroups.com,austric@yahoogroups.com.

ESL is just one part of what I do. Accomplishments (degrees, olympic medals, books written, whatever) do open doors.

#2 Parent Rheno747, B.A., M.A., PhD, Hard Knocks U - 2006-04-19
I don't like pig. I don't like pokes. Now what? - Teachers discussion

Why all the titles, guy?

Titles mean nothing in TESOL. I have only a B.A. in English, which does just fine when I play the role of walking billboard.

#3 Parent Rheno747 - 2006-04-18
Agreed. - Teachers discussion

I wouldn't take the chance and use a fake degree. Fake TESOL, sure. Fake degree? No way. A TESOL job just isn't worth it.

How are some of you arriving at the conclusion that running on a fake degree in SK IS worth it?

#4 Parent Robin Day B.Sc. MSc. B.Ed. - 2006-04-17
FAKE DEGREES - Teachers discussion

Yes people used these in the past in Asia and Immigration, the embasseys and the schools were too lazy to check them. That has changed in Korea. Degrees or transcripts have to be mailed now from the home university and received by Imigration unopened. They keep legit examples on file.