TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Contract advice
DublinDave - 2016-03-20

Hi

I am a newbie and am in contact with a school for a new start in the fall. The contract I have received seems fine, I just want some advice about the following clauses which I have copied and pasted below. For those of you experienced do you think it is reasonable? I was a little taken aback by the hard line on visitors. I was hoping I could have my girlfriend visit on the odd occasion. Also the clause about having to pay for a medical exam because I am not in China now, is this normal?

Thanks in advance for your help. Much appreciated.

Dave

Processing of Visa, Residence Permit and Alien Employment Permit

All employees are required to hold the appropriate PRC work and residence documentation, including visa, residence permit and alien employment permit as a condition of his or her employment by the School. The School will arrange for and pay the cost of a letter of invitation, alien employment permit and residence permit with respect to a multiple entry visa for each Academic Year of the term of employment. The Employer will be responsible for the cost of any medical examination or diagnostic procedure that the PRC may require as a condition of the residence or employment or in maintaining continued residence and employment where such an examination is carried out within the PRC.

The Employee will be responsible for all the costs involved in any medical examination or diagnostic procedure that the PRC may require which is carried out outside of the PRC.

The Employee agrees to submit to any medical examinations or diagnostic procedures that the PRC may require as a condition of issuance of such documents.

The Employee is responsible for the cost of arranging and carrying out police checks and the travel costs incurred as a result of obtaining such checks whether or not these are carried out within or outside the PRC.