TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Research! Research! Research! - Teachers Discussion
John - 2006-08-10

I presume that you are new to China, in which case you should be aware that there are risks for the uninitiated or unwary.

I have no knowledge of either of the schools or locations mentioned. I have had long experience, however, of working and travelling in India and can say that the average Indian town or city, is not unlike the average Chinese town or city of similar size. There are good areas and squalid areas in all of them. If you live and work in a nice area it can be very safe and pleasant but if you find yourself in a bad area it can be the opposite.

Few Chinese people speak English outside the large cosmopolitan cities like Beijing or Shanghai etc. Even there English speaking Chinese are in the minority.

Ask each of the schools to send you dated photographs of their campus and buildings and your accommodation both inside and out. Ask for pictures of the immediate vicinity outside the school but taken from within the school.

Go to internet and see what you can find about these places. Ask if the schools have their own websites. Check through the "School and Recruiter Review" section on this website to see if they have been complained about by other teachers.

If you have not received draft employment contracts from these schools, ASK for them now. Ask them to confirm that they are authorised by the Chinese Foreign Affairs Department to directly employ foreign experts. (That latter point is VERY important!!) Ask for their 'SAFEA' registration numbers too.

If they have not already done so, ask for confirmation that they intend to send you formal Letters of Invitation that will get you what is known as a "Z" Visa in your passports BEFORE you travel. No other type of visa will do - it must be "Z". Do NOT leave India with anything else!!