TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › ADVICE FOR GETTING OUT OF VERY BAD SCHOOL IN CHINA
Crazy Girl ( to work in China for English First!!) - 2008-06-26

Please reply to my email - crazycrazyworld@live.co.uk - I am new to China so wasn't aware of the pitfalls here.

I need some good advise please. I signed a one year contract with English First. After one month it became obvious the school was just a big money making machine and had no real interest in it's students or staff.

I informed the school I wasn't happy and would like to find work in a better school. They said that if I did leave I would have to pay over 9500 RMB!!

They said that if I did not pay this fine then they would call the police.

My only option is to run away from the school.

Now here is my problem - I am not sure if the school is trying to scare me or are telling the truth but they told me that if I decide to run away from the school I will not be able to work elsewhere in China because they won't issue me with release papers and I will have to go back to my country of origin.

Again, they said they would get the police if indeed I left without telling them.

Is what they are saying true? Which organisations can help me get out of my employment without being hit by a huge bill? Should I pay the money and cut my losses and go to another Chinese school? Is the same thing likely to happen again at another school?

(For those who thinking fleeing a bad school is unacceptable - excuse me, these people are denying me my basic right to walk away from employment I don't like because they don't give a damn about teaching and treat me like dirt. Now they threaten me with a huge bill and if I don't pay it they will call the police - like I am a criminal - which I am not!)

Aren't these people absolutely horrible!! They have me over a barrel which is a really demeaning place to be.

There must be someone who can help me get out of this mess.