TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Books for ABSOLUTE beginners who don't know latin alphabet
Neil Pollick - 2008-11-01

I am a English volunteer EFL teacher working at Tibet Charity in McLeod Ganj (Dharamsala) in North India.
www.tibetcharity.in/

I am looking for a course book to use with the Absolute Beginners here.
They are all adults and none of them are familiar with the Latin alphabet.

Our students are Tibetan refugees who were not born in this country. The majority have no formal education even in their own language. Many of them are too old to take advantage of the free education programs available to new arrivals from Tibet. Coming to our school is the only way they have to advance their education and improve their prospects, since we offer our teaching without charge

I have tried to adapt nursery materials designed for children but they are not really appropriate for 2 basic reasons.

1. The content is aimed at children and does not engage adults.
2. The books assume that the learners are acquiring vocabulary aurally outside of the classroom. They assume that the learners are in an English speaking environment and that therefore they will be familiar with the sound of vocabulary and structures before they actually learn how they are written. Consequently grammatical structures (simple verb forms in particular) are not presented in an explanatory, graded and systematic way that would allow new students to understand and absorb them.

The students are not exposed to English outside of the classroom. The teachers here are native English speaking volunteers who are not able to stay for more than a month on average. We have introduced the New English File (NEF) series of course books from Elementary to Upper Intermediate so that the students are assured of continuous progress in the face of the high turnover of teachers (one teacher takes over exactly where the other teacher left off).