TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
· Previous · Next Return to Index › Xi'an, Native English Teachers
JJJ - 2009-02-05

Turns out the Foreign Affairs (or those staff responsible for Foreign guests) are typically the only person(s) who can communicate in English. School Staff are composed primarily of Chinese persons and FA Staff are given a wide berth to do as they wish. Sadly, some FA persons are often under qualified, a complete idiot, but cunning to keep Foreign guests as satisfied as minimally as needed. Yes.. from light bulbs, troubles with appliances, general maintenance items, even the often self-taught, "skilled workers" for cleaning and/or repair are substandard with requests for needed services "lost" or "misplaced". I personally know of 11 Western Foreigners who were fed up. They often would finish their contractual obligation and promptly leave (some don't wait until the end and students end up suffering believing the Foreigner is a flake).

Others I've met seem to have troubles at home (UK, USA, AUS, NZ, CA..other) and have nothing better to do or can't do any better for themselves. Also, I have met a few retired Foreign Teachers are most encouraging and intriguing with their former experiences and eyes wide open to China. I too experience the intrigue for China and its people. I've visited many Cities, towns, villages as time and travel permits. (it's truly nuts to travel during China holidays (Western holiday travel woes multiplied by 8, especially when unable to use the language). Perks.. traveling with locals, students, colleagues to see real China away from all the Tourist traps and "modernized China" which integrate the old with the new in such a fashion (everything from cloths, buildings, restaurants, to foods -- try the cakes.. still NO pies!) that even the locals can not tell real from (re)duplicated.