TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Work In China - READ THIS
WarningSigns - 2009-10-12

Hi there, I'm no expert, but I've seen quite a few people going through hell this year. Just thought I'd post a little warning. With western countries finding their economic feet stuck in the mud, the world is facing a global financial crisis. As a result of this, many people have decided to take some time away from this and work in China, teaching English.
If you are one of these people, please read this! Hopefully, it helps you!

Many businesses in China are very, very talented in luring people in, but once you get started, the pretty pictures washes away and the reality that you're trapped in a misserable situation sets in. Or worse, you find yourself packing your bags, getting back on that plane, going home minus the money you shelled out to get to China in the first place.

Here are warning signs that you might want to consider working for someone else.

1. VISA - A working visa is the visa you need to work for most training centers, and a Residence visa is what you get if you're working as a teacher. IT IS 100% ILLEGAL TO WORK IN CHINA FOR ONE MINUTE ON A TOURIST VISA!!!! Do not let them tell you otherwise. Many companies are doing this because it's easier, cheaper, and faster, and there's less paperwork and/or binding material (an invitation letter). Some of them get away with it for quite some time, but eventually, every company gets caught! You DO NOT want to be the person that gets caught. It means A) heavy fines for you B) heavier fines for your company and C) possible deportation. This is not a rumour, or misinformation. THIS IS THE LAW.