TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Re: GAC-ACT
Jim Smith - 2010-03-25
In response to China: GAC-ACT (englishgibson)

Regarding GAC

Dear all; The GAC -Another view from another educator: Ive been teaching for many years. I have professional teaching certificates from two states in the USA. I hold a Masters Degree in International Education with an emphasis in ESL/EFL. My professional teaching/administrating experience includes, writing curriculum and accreditation reports and teaching at WASC accredited public high schools and colleges in the USA. Since moving to China three years ago, Ive taught at 2 International Baccalaureate schools. The first, was as a DP teacher and the second, I taught and administrated as the DP Coordinator. Since moving here to China Ive met many actual teachers. Ive also met many so called English Teachers.

A person who calls himself a teacher and happens to be in China and is employed as a teacher is no more a teacher than an assembly-line transistor-tech working in Taiwan is a an electrical engineer. In China, you can call yourself a teacher and people buy it because of your skin color, accent and passport. Not unlike a technician in Taiwan may convince his friends hes an EE because his pals have no idea what an EE actually is. That said, you show me your documented credentials and skills and Ill refer to you in the appropriate manner. There is a distinction between someone like me and someone who has a BA in psychology or business and says hes a teacher because he lives in China and has a job with EF and just happens to have a blue passport.