TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Re: Linyi Normal University
Linyi ex teacher - 2010-06-08
In response to Re: Linyi Normal University (michael)

I was a teacher in Linyi Normal University for more than one year. I know Michael and is wife and can guaranty that what he is saying is true.

The stuff some of you wrote on Michael (and on other non native English teachers in general) is quite frankly ludicrous.

Even though some non native teachers may not have perfect English writing skills that isn't a valid base to imply their incapability of doing a good job as teachers. What matters is their speaking abilities, dedication to the job, teaching skills, charisma and passion. In my opinion it's better to have an English teacher with a slight accent but with the ability to motivate and inspire the students to learn than one with a perfect pronunciation but with no teaching abilities who will bore them senseless and make them hate the language. I know what I'm talking about since I'm not a native speaker myself and in my student days had to endure a great quantity of such lessons delivered by native English speakers... actually the best Oral English teacher I ever had was French :-)

I can say that both Michael and his wife posses all the qualities that make good teachers. They both have solid academic credentials and certainly are far more qualified than some of the so called "teachers" that Linyi University is currently employing (e.g. no degree or qualifications, drunk at every hour of the day, inappropriate relationships with students, behavior that goes from weird to raging mental, etc... )