TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Re: Spying on Students?
Sanguine - 2010-10-16
In response to Re: Spying on Students? (Dave)

Thank you folks, for your responses to my two postings. Let me counter, if I may, the slightly condescending tones.

Why would you feel a need to do that?

I am not a newbie here in China. I have been working continuously in China for well over six years, which is far longer than many others of you who are here and claiming to be seasoned experts on the international scene.

That's great, but why do you feel a need to tel us this? Ah yes because you feel like you are being talked down to. I must admit, for someone who has been in China for 6 years you don't seem to know much about how things work. Your mistake is a rookie one, and if you don't want people to see you as a "newbie" best not to act like one. Just a thought.

Moreover, since 1978, I have lived and worked at different times in eight different countries, these being the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Jordan, Kenya, Tanzania, India and latterly China. Additionally I have visited and done business and/or recruitment in another twenty or so countries worldwide and some of them I have visited frequently.

You see this as saying something good about yourself. I see it the opposite. If you have this much experience, it makes it even worse that you'd make such a whopping huge mistake, and you really have no excuse.

So, folks, though you were not to know all this, you do now, so with respect, please dont talk down to me like Im some kind of fresh-faced backpacker or summer holiday itinerant. I have much more international employment experience than most, if not all of you.