TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
· Previous · Next Return to Index › JUST A THOUGHT - ESL discussion
The Arrogant One - 2005-05-01

Having been in the ESL game back here in the States for a while now, I have ventured to impress upon my students the necessity of practicing English following their 3 to 3-hour sessions at the school. Most comprehend the importance of such a request, but complain that they have neither English-speaking friends nor relations with whom to practice on a regular basis.

I, myself, speak six languages and had the opportunity to learn each in a country where it is the primary tongue. In my case the acquisition of each was no easy matter, especially since, in each case, I had been professionally engaged to do a job where that language played a key rle. I was a symphony orchestra musician, while all instructions at rehearsals, etc. were generally given in that language. Did I miss any cues? You bet I did, and in each case I was the solo-timpanist! I well recall one particular rehearsal of Tchaikovskys Fourth Symphony during my early days in the Orquesta Sinfnica Brasileira of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The fourth movement of the piece starts out with a rather thunderous BANG! of the entire percussion section which I executed perfectly only, it was the second movement of the work they were actually playing! Besides scaring the pants off everyone, they told me my face had turned as red as a ripe tomato! Oh, boy!