TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Efforts to humour - ESL discussion
Yingwen Laoshi - 2005-05-18
In response to What is Humor - ESL discussion (Chrisping)

I am far from an expert on humour and would never claim to be.I'm still a relative babe in ESL with so far just two and half years experience.

All I can relate is what for the most part works for me.I also think that in an ideal or perfect world, not a lot of humour would be necessary in the classroom, but the society that we live in today is a breeding ground for short attention spans.That's possibly why rich kids ,whose parents can afford the latest gadgets,(mp3's,computer games, dvds etc.) are often harder to teach.

The best humour is spontaneous.Most of what I use is not pre-planned.A simple illustration of an animal or a man running upstairs in the form of gestures or mimicking can provide comic relief, as well as being an effective teaching aid.

I always use gestures in class, and used creatively they can be very humourus to not just Chinese children but adults as well!Everyone can relate to gestures especially if you put across everyday funny situations.

For instance in the previous Middle School where I taught I was trying to explain to the children what a bill or check(cheque) is in a restaurant.The students couldn't understand as I tried to get them to think of what a customer has to do after they've eaten their meal, but before they leave the restaurant.

I gestured as if I'd just finished a meal in a restaurant and was about to pay for my meal when shock horror, I realise I've left my wallet at home .So I illustrate a man frantically searching his pockets for money,and realising he hasn't any with him ,then looking around furtively ,before making a mad dash for the door.