TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
View Thread · Previous · Next Return to Index › Re: Re Carrot Korea - any info?
Tonga Yongarul Slave - 2012-09-06
In response to Re Carrot Korea - any info? (Jamie)

I have worked for Carrot English for almost two years. I am a highly ranked teacher and have made it in to the top ten at times.

RECRUITMENT: The recruitment postings all over the internet LIE BY OMISSION and the recruiter(your potential future manager) will lie by omission on the phone with you during their first call in response to your resume. The lie? That they pay $13 per hour. They pay $2.79 cents per 10 minutes. You will never have 8 hours a day of classes. I never make more than $1500 a month and that is before tax.

You are hired as a SUB CONTRACTOR. So what? This means that you're not an employee of Carrot English, you're a separate business entity, so you can be treated in any manner they see fit.

I didn't have to prove my qualifications to them and on top of that they lie in my profile on their Korean language website about my qualifications and experience.

No information about the company where it's going or what it's doing is readily available. Below is the company news letter for Sept. 2012:

"Dear ___ ____ teacher,

Hello this is Cecil & Kelly from THR. It is April already and cold winter days are gone and warm spring ray waits for us. It might be a great idea for you to go on a short trip to enjoy this warm spring days. If you have any good news to share with us please send them to us anytime. Thanks."

No joke.

TRAINING: The training only lasts for 3 hours. So? They have their own proprietary software program that is used to deliver classes. Along with third party purchased software. They also have a laundry list of policy, coding and protocol that must be followed. Your adherence to their policy, appropriate coding, and awareness of protocol affect how many new students you receive and thus your pay.