TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
· Previous · Next Return to Index › General Advice When Posting Complaints Here - ESL discussion
Dave - 2005-07-04

I read these reviews frequently and I often see complaints made that are legitimate and relevant but have reduced impact because they are subjective.

I have had many years experience of commercial management in several different countries, in which I have been involved in numerous disputes and complaints. From experience gained over the years I have this advice for those who have a complaint to make or a warning to post.

First though, let me say that many of the situations being complained about could EASILY have been avoided by doing simple research and asking detailed questions of the school concerned beforehand. A school that is out to rip you off will not like being asked many detailed questions and will very quickly discard you quite rightly as a potential troublemaker for them. However, if you do have a complaint to make try following these guidelines.

1) Stick rigidly and ONLY to the facts. This is THE MOST IMPORTANT ASPECT OF ANY COMPLAINT, because if you stick only to facts, your adversary cannot ignore or refute them. Moreover, if you confine yourself only to facts, your adversary will realise he has an intelligent plaintiff on his hands and will be at a psychological disadvantage immediately, for it is the truth that hurts the most.

2) Do NOT succumb to the temptation to personally insult your adversary no matter whether you refer to a school as an entity, or some individual within it. It may give you a "good" feeling to eloquently slag someone off but to the average reader this can make you appear as the likely cause of the problem you're complaining about. Furthermore, if you resort to personal attacks you reduce your own standing and give your adversary ammunition with which to shoot back at you.