TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
Eddie -- Teacher in Hainan - 2004-10-12
In response to Advice Please. (annerob)

> Contiuing on from the unanswered challenge from Arrogant One, and the
> immature ravings of both him and XI, I repeat the request. Can
> anybody out there respond with just 5 ( one will be a help )
> reliable, trustworthy Agencies or schools where we can start our ESL
> life.
> Its a minefleld out there, but with all the experience you have,
> surely someone can point us in the right direction. E mails will be
> welcome.
> We are a mature Australian couple with a life long desire to meet the
> people of China. We will be ready to start work in February, 2005.
> Can someone advise us about CTTR ?.

Who in their right mind would want to paint a bulls eye on the chest and say, Im an agent? Agencies stay clear of forums not for fear but because its a useless battle. Peoples mind are already made up and even God cant convince them of any thing different. Therefore, most of agencies let you all rediscover the wheel.

Even if you are a legitimate placement service people are going to shoot arrows no matter what. Every incoming teacher wants something for free with no accountability that would expose their common inabilities to adjust to culture, customs, living in a foreign land, and working in developing country. Some of the worst teachers in China are English teachers themselves. Some of the best are those who majored in other fields like history or elementary education. Some teachers are bound by Western classroom traditions instead of readjusting their teaching methods to reach students who are shy and too embarrassed to speak.

However, for the sake of argument, I will let you guys shoot some arrows.